Top navigation

2015 Music Teacher Awards for Excellence shortlist announced

2015 Music Teacher Awards for Excellence shortlist announced

Entering its third year, the Music Teacher Awards will once again celebrate excellence in the world of music education.

Categories range from Best Music Education Product to the Lifetime Achievement Award, recognising significant contributions to education in music.

The winner of each category will be announced at the event on the 12th March 2015, on the first day of the Music Education Expo 2015, hosted by The Grange St Paul’s Hotel in London. Jonathon Morris will be making an appearance to put on a solo piano performance, incidental music from students at Leighton Park School. In addition, award-winning vocal group, Voces 8, will be providing entertainment. Classic FM DJ Margherita Taylor will be presenting for the event.

A panel of judges will be on hand to pick the winners, with the exception of the Best Classical Music Education Initiative which is going to be put to a public votes on the Classic FM website. Thomas Lydon, the editor of Music Teacher Magazine will be choosing the winner of the Music Teacher Magazine Editor’s Award.
Article continues below


Individual tickets for the event are £120 + VAT and tables of ten are £1,000 + VAT. Both can be purchased online at, or by contacting the events team on 020 7333 1731.

The Finalists are as follows:

Best Musical Initiative Award, sponsored by the Royal Marines Band Service
•    iOrchestra (Philharmonia Orchestra)
•    CânSing
•    Road to Rio (Inspire Works)
•    The Full English (English Folk Dance & Song Society)
•    Don’t Stop the Music (James Rhodes)

Best Print Resource Award, sponsored by Rhinegold Publishing Ltd
•    Micromusicals (Christopher Norton, Boosey & Hawkes)
•    Listening Lab (Universal Edition)
•    Debut series (James Rae, Universal Edition)
•    Simultaneous Learning (Paul Harris, Faber Music)
•    Scapes series (Mark Tanner, Spartan Press)

Best Digital/Technological Resource Award
•    Music Express Online (A&C Black Music)
•    Weezic augmented sheet music
•    Charanga Musical School
•    MusicFirst (Music Sales Group)
•    Piano Maestro (JoyTunes)

Best SEN Resource Award
•    Prima Vista Braille Music Services
•    The Music Man project
•    Skoogmusic
•    Soundbeam
•    ABC Creative Music

Best School Music Department Award, sponsored by the MMA
•    Wimbledon High Junior School
•    Twyford School
•    Windsor Upper Schools
•    Woodcroft Primary School
•    Rydens Enterprise School

Excellence in Primary/Early Years Music Award
•    Music for Little People
•    London Music Masters’ Bridge Project
•    Inside Music (the Voices Foundation)
•    The Portsmouth Music Programme
•    City Songbirds (Stoke-on-Trent Music Service)

Musicians’ Union Inspiration Award, sponsored by the Musicians’ Union
•    Mary Bell, teacher and music therapist
•    Michael Dow, director of music at Stockport Grammar School
•    Chris Murphy, youth arts worker
•    Anna Batson, music leader and training coordinator
•    Sophie Biebuyck, founder and musical director, Brentwood Songsters

Best Music Education Product Award
•    Howarth Junior MX clarinet, with SimpleFit Mouthpiece and Ligature Set
•    Sonic Pi (for Raspberry Pi)
•    The 4-hole Oc® (Ocarina Workshop)
•    The CLIPHIT (Korg)
•    The Boss RC-505 Loop Station

Best Classical Music Education Initiative, sponsored by Classic FM
The winner of this award will be chosen by a
public vote on – details coming soon
•    Opera North Children’s Chorus
•    BBC Ten Pieces
•    In Harmony Telford and Stoke
•    Takeover 2014 (Royal Scottish National Orchestra)
•    The Scratch Youth Messiah

Tags: event , music teacher awards , finalists

Follow us on